Alone With Others


modern-originals-and-limited-editions

One of my favorite things to do is go to a public place where a number of people are gathered, and watch them. “Watch for what?” might be your question. I am watching how they behave.  I am observing the solo interactions, as well as the interactions of those with and around them. Bookstores and coffee shops are my favorite places to people watch. These two top the list, simply because everyone is in their own world. As I sit comfortably in a cushy chair, with enough pillows to ease the stresses of rough day, I grab one of the books I selected. As I begin to read, the footsteps of a bookstore employee hurrying to another area of the two story store peak my interest. I glance in her direction as I see her trotting down the moving escalator, still in a hurry. My thoughts quickly shift from my book to “What’s her story?” Before I can begin to put ideas together, my thoughts are interrupted by a young couple (late teens early twenties) who plop down in the other two plushy pillow chairs. The guy sat on the navy blue, while the girl plopped down on the deep rouge chair. Sitting in my olive green chair, I smile when they look in my direction and return to the book in hand. The couple quickly forgets about the lady in the slacks, pumps, and button down shirt, and engage in personal conversation as if I somehow literally disappeared behind the book. The two were sophomores at the local university, and had been dating since some time in high school. They reminisced on school dances, classmates, teachers, school activities, and above all the ease of life they had left a few years back. Jumping to present day, they discussed the stresses of professors, exams, dorms, and other areas of campus life. This eventually led to talks of marriage, careers, and futures. I (not that much older than they were at the time) hoped they would live out all of their dreams, as I was a single mother, working full-time, and a student at the community college. My thoughts are interrupted again; this time by a group of elementary/middle school aged kids apparently on a field trip. As I watch the group pile on the escalator behind me, I know this would be interesting. They made it up to the second floor in groups of about eight to ten, each with an adult chaperone. The entire group gathers a distance away near the music area. Vaguely, I hear something about a scavenger hunt, and the faint chatter of a few kids.  The big group breaks apart into little groups and they disperse in every direction. My observations of the styles, attitudes, and language the kids used were interrupted by the vibration of my LG flip phone. I check the outer display to see “2:30PM”, and an alarm clock just beneath bouncing around as if to intensify the urgency that I should head for the parking lot. I leave the books in the olive green cushy pillow chair, the chattering kids, the young couple, and the bookstore employee as I make my way down the escalator, and out the door. Another day…another thought.

thought-bubble01_f025-20111115135836-00005

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. wordygertie1
    Mar 26, 2014 @ 17:51:58

    It was so fun to get to be “inside your head” in this post. I’m a huge fan of people watching too–it’s kind of cool to get a glimpse into the lives of complete strangers!

    Like

    Reply

    • lefraise2002
      Mar 26, 2014 @ 18:00:18

      Thanks! I have plenty of stories like this! I am glad I have someplace to share them now. Thanks for the feedback 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  2. traviontramaine
    Apr 04, 2014 @ 14:14:37

    I like it. Imagery is powerful! I wanted to be in the book store, lol!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Random…Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Dark Fiction By Kyla Ross

Horror and suspense flash fiction, short stories, and novels

Jenny Roman

Staffordshire-based Writer - living the dream!

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Writings By Ender

The Writer's Adventure

Sui generis Shaili

A Unique Style 📝 | 💫WorDeD with WiT👑👇

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Soulful Poetry

my heartfelt words...

Crumble Cult

By Tony Single

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

Faithful.Live

Faithful Marriage-Blended Family

Laugh Me Out

By: Michael Justin Chavez

