The Fans At… (The Story of Why I Write)


image

This is my story of why I blog. It all started long ago, in a far away land…wait that wasn’t me!  Ok, all jokes aside, in elementary school we were always assigned writing assignments. Year after year, I was always entered into the Young Authors Contest…and won!  I was excited to win, naturally, but never thought I had a gift to share with others.

In middle school (6th grade) I made my way into a 7th/8th grade Creative Writing class (I didn’t like the class options for 6th graders,  so I got some strings pulled). This is when I was first told I had a gift. My first day in the class I was instructed to free write. I had the entire class time to put together ideas and come up with something original. As the bell rang, I had about ten pages front and back completed. I thought nothing of it, until my classmates appeared amazed. My teacher was also rather pleased. I was asked to stay after class for a few minutes, and that’s when I became nervous. I thought about everything under the sun that could be the problem, but instead, it was a moment of encouragement. The Creative Writing class was just a stepping stone for other writing opportunities in middle school. I was in a Journalism class, wrote for the school newspaper, and also discovered my love for writing research papers.

Fast forward to my senior year of high school. I was in my Honors English IV class, and each nine weeks we were assigned daily writing journal assignments. The daily writing assignments were typed on a standard sheet of printer paper, and were handed out to each student at the beginning of each nine weeks. The contents of the paper included:  the guidelines for writing the journal entries, a topic for every school day, and the deadline.  We had to write each assignment in our “journal” (black and white marble composition notebook). 

This one interesting journal topic was given to us during the final nine weeks. It was titled. The fans at… I was at home trying to knock out a few journal entries one day (making sure I met the deadline), and I was sitting in my bed writing. I came across, The fans at…, and I began writing.
Time passed and it was the last day of school for the seniors. Our English teacher handed back our journals, so we could see our grades.  Then, she announced that she read the most interesting journal, and wanted that person to stand before the class to read it aloud. If you haven’t guessed it yet, that lucky student was no one be yours truly. The selected entry was, The fans at… As I made my way to the front of the class, I was laughing on the inside, but my classmates were curious about what I had written. Once I had everyone’s attention, I began.  “The fans at my house are…” “…the fans at Home Depot are…” I went on describing ceiling fans, oscillating fans, and box fans in various places.  The class erupted in laughter, thinking I wrote that as a joke. My teacher wasn’t laughing. I was nervous…again!  I had an “A” on the assignment, why was she so serious?  She then told me she was referring to fans at a sporting event!  All I could say was “Oh!, and laugh it off, but she still wasn’t done with me. She went on to say that I shouldn’t persue a career in forensics, I should be a writer. She had never had anyone respond to that topic in the way I had. She explained how creative I was, and how she enjoyed reading all of my assignments throughout the year. 

That teacher’s words stuck with me, and I am finally giving writing a try!

Hello, my name is Kelly Smith, and I’m a blogger.

image

Leave a Reply

Follow Random…Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 576 other followers

Dark Fiction By Kyla Ross

Horror and suspense flash fiction, short stories, and novels

Jenny Roman

Staffordshire-based Writer - living the dream!

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Writings By Ender

The Writer's Adventure

Sui generis Shaili

A Unique Style 📝 | 💫WorDeD with WiT👑👇

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Soulful Poetry

my heartfelt words...

Crumble Cult

By Tony Single

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

Faithful.Live

Faithful Marriage-Blended Family

Laugh Me Out

By: Michael Justin Chavez

