Day Six: Amazingly, Monday Had Other Plans for Me


image

Image Source: betteroffwell.com

If you work in retail, as I just so happen to do, your work schedule will often vary. When I get my schedule, my eyes immediately scan for the word OFF. Now don’t get me wrong, my job is ok, and I am thankful to have it. However, who doesn’t look forward to their days away from work?

After working Wednesday through Sunday, I was jumping for joy on the inside that today is Monday. Yes, you read it correctly, I couldn’t wait for Monday. While most people were dreading its mere existence, I was planning out my day of rest and relaxation. Amazingly, Monday had other plans for me.

Walk in the forest alarm playing

It’s my 6:30 A.M. alarm going off. The same one I snooze right through any other day, but today is different. My husband said he would allow me to rest today since my oldest son was away for Spring Break and I didn’t have to bring him to school. I wake up and help my husband get our two year old son ready for school (daycare). He was going to drop our son off to school then head out to work. Everything went according to plan except…

I get out of bed and get ready for my day of nothing ahead of me.  I then make my way to the kitchen to prepare my morning bowl of oatmeal, yum!  Amazingly, Monday had other plans for me.  There he sat,  upon the light bulb, above the kitchen sink, just waiting to ruin my perfectly planned day of nothing.

image

Photo Source: weirdphobia.com

A wasp.  No bigger than my thumb. A wasp.  A wasp.  A wasp.  A wasp.  Insert expletives here!  I am afraid…no terrified…no I am panick-stricken. I came right back in my bedroom, closed the door and locked it behind me. (As if the critter will be able to open the door unlocked, let alone locked!)

Well folks, I am in my bed, out of harm’s (the wasp’s) way.  Doing exactly what I planned to do today…absolutely nothing. I sure hope my husband comes home for lunch!

Zerotohero

K. A. Smith

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. palmtreesandpeas
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 11:26:07

    Exciting start to your day!

    Like

    Reply

  2. Masala & Blarney
    Apr 21, 2014 @ 15:07:33

    Oh this had me rolling…because this was me until last summer when we had the Eastern Yellow Jacket move into the space between our eaves and exterior walls/subfloor. They were coming down my ceiling fan in the kitchen. Took us all summer to eradicate them.
    Anyway – The Oatmeal (hilarious stuff) had this great thing and your post made me remember it and I had to share it with you.
    http://theoatmeal.com/comics/running5

    Like

    Reply

    • lefraise2002
      Apr 21, 2014 @ 15:24:56

      I think I would have left them the house! The wasps come out when the weather warms up down here in Southeastern Louisiana. All winter long I could open the door and leave it opened all day if I wanted to. Now that the temperature is bouncing between 70s and 80s these demons are out (and somehow in) and about. I usually only get one at a time in the house, so I don’t think I have it nowhere near as bad as you had it. I just don’t know how they are getting it. My husband will be playing home inspector to find out. I hate wasps.

      Thanks for The Oatmeal link! This was hilarious. I will share it with my brother, he will get a good laugh, he is scared of the wasps too.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Random…Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other followers

Dark Fiction By Kyla Ross

Horror and suspense flash fiction, short stories, and novels

Jenny Roman

Staffordshire-based Writer - living the dream!

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Writings By Ender

The Writer's Adventure

Sui generis Shaili

A Unique Style 📝 | 💫WorDeD with WiT👑👇

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Soulful Poetry

my heartfelt words...

Crumble Cult

By Tony Single

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

Faithful.Live

Faithful Marriage-Blended Family

Laugh Me Out

By: Michael Justin Chavez

