Ghostly Giggle


As Hailey sat on her bed reading Moonlit Ally, a book she recently picked up from a local bookstore, she decided to take a break from reading to call her parents. Hailey’s mom and dad were out of town for the weekend, and tonight is the first night she would be home alone in her sixteen years of existence. She leaves a message on her dad’s voicemail, and heads to the kitchen to get a glass of water. Hailey returns to her room, plops down on her bed and picks up her book to dive back into the fictitious world created from her book.

image

Photo Source: curious-dee.deviantart.com

(phone vibrating)

“Hello? ”
“Hi Sweetie, how’s everything at home?”
“Everything’s great,  mom!  I have been so into this book,  I completely lost track of time! ”
“What are you reading?”
Moonlit Ally,  that new book by Rick Houseman.”
“I heard that’s a real page turner. I will have to read it when we get back home. Well,  I was just returning your call. Your dad said you called. I can see everything is fine, so one of us will call you in the morning.”
“Ok mom.  Sounds great. Tell Dad I said hi,  bye and goodnight!”
“I will. Goodnight Sweetie.”
“Goodnight Mom.”

image

Photo Source: maztravel.com

As Hailey hangs up with her mom,  she hears a faint giggle in the hallway.  She becomes very still and quiet. I must be hearing things,  she thought. Hailey ignored the sound she may or may not have heard,  shrugged it off and decided she had read enough for the night. She pulled back the covers on her bed,  and nestled beneath the layers of sheets and blankets. She turned off her lamp and, closed her eyes.

Just as Hailey is falling asleep, she hears the giggle again.  This time it wasn’t faint at all.  This time it wasn’t in the hall.  This time it was obvious that Hailey was not home alone after all.  Hailey laid very still in bed. Frozen. Frozen with fear.  There it was again. The same giggle, but this time she was able to locate the sound. It was coming from her closet. Should I get up?  Should I lay here and die from being frozen with fear?  Will this ghostly giggle kill me if I get up?  Hell,  will it kill me if I stay in this bed? Ughhhh!!! C’mon Hailey think!!!  You are sixteen acting like you are six,  get a grip!  Ok… I’m going to get up. No one is here…just me. 

image

Photo Source: blog.sleepingsimple.com

After a moment of mentally debating with herself, Hailey finally got the courage to turn on the lamp and get out of bed.  Once again she hears the giggle as clearly as she hears herself breathing. Frozen mid step,  her breathing was decreased as she was paralyzed with fear.  What am I doing?  Why did I get up?  This is real life girl, not a book!!  I should have called the cops. I don’t even have a weapon. Why didn’t I call the cops?! 

After another self debate,  Hailey walks slowly towards her closet. Her legs shaking beneath her. Her chest tightening with each step.  She gulps with each breath. When did my bed get so far away from my closet? Finally,  she reaches the door. The giggle begins again. It is now one continues ghostly giggle seeping through the crack between the two closet doors. All fear a side,  Hailey grabs each door handle, flings the doors wide open, and screams loudly into closet with her eyes tightly shut. The giggle continues, but now  errupts into laughter. Hailey opens her eys and to her surprise, she finds her cousin/BFF, Breah crying laughing on the floor of her closet.

“BREAH?!?! WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE?!?!”
“Hailey, I am so sorry!!” (laughing continues) “But, I just HAD to get you back from that April Fools prank you played on me!”
“I almost had a heart attack!” Yelled Hailey,  who was now laughing as well.
“You should have seen your face!  Priceless!”
“How did you do all of this?”

Hailey and Breah are now sitting on the floor of Hailey’s closet.

“Well,  I knew Auntie Karen,  and Uncle Brad would be going out of town this weekend leaving you home alone for the first time in the history of Hailey Rae Lansing.  So,  I told my mom and dad that I would come keep you company this weekend. When I texted you and you said you were in the bookstore, I already knew I had time to get in and get ready to pull off the ultimate prank. And you didn’t disappoint either. You stayed at the bookstore FOREVER!”
“Ha!  I really did!  Go on, Prankmaster Breah.”
“Ok,  so I am in the guest bedroom’s walkin closet. You know, just catching up on Orange is the New Black and snacking on some Airheads. And, you finally came home.  I let you get settled, and decided to wait until it was late enough.”
“Ok,  so wait.  When did you get in my closet? And how did you giggle in the hallway and you were in my closet?”
“When you went to take a shower, I took that time to move into your room.  I recorded myself giggling while you were still at the bookstore.  I put my old cellphone in the hallway behind the plant in the corner before I came in here.”
“But, how did you make your old phone go off. It’s disconnected, right?”
“Hellooo?  I do have your Wi-Fi password!”
“Oh. Right! Proceed!”
“K.  Now, if you must know…I set my email ringtone to the giggle I recorded on my old phone. Sent myself an email and BOOM, low hidden giggle! ”
“Ughhh!!! I am going to kill you! 
Both girls begin laughing.
“And the rest was all me sitting in your junky closet, Hailey.  One giggle after another!”

<a href="Giggle“>Giggle

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Emptying My Thoughts-Night 2 | Random...Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine
  2. Trackback: Emptying My Thoughts: Night Five | Random...Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine

Leave a Reply

Follow Random…Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other followers

Dark Fiction By Kyla Ross

Horror and suspense flash fiction, short stories, and novels

Jenny Roman

Staffordshire-based Writer - living the dream!

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Writings By Ender

The Writer's Adventure

Sui generis Shaili

A Unique Style 📝 | 💫WorDeD with WiT👑👇

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Soulful Poetry

my heartfelt words...

Crumble Cult

By Tony Single

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

Faithful.Live

Faithful Marriage-Blended Family

Laugh Me Out

By: Michael Justin Chavez

