Book Review: Whiskey Rebellion by Liliana Hart


Whiskey Rebellion is the first book in the Addison Holmes Mystery Series. This book was written by New York Times bestselling author, Liliana Hart.

image

Photo Source: amazon.com

Let me begin by saying I absolutely LOVED this book!  Liliana Hart,  you have just been added to my list of favorite authors. Here is a bit of a back story about how I stumbled across this great read.

One day while mindlessly scrolling through endless pictures of cute cats,  recipes I will never make, excercise challenges I will never complete, and other pictures on Pinterest, I came across a pin for a website called BookBub. I made it my business to see what this was all about. Bottom line is that you sign up, select the catagories you enjoy reading about, the app(s) you use for e-reading and you get suggestions about books you might like to read.  Here’s the fun part! Most titles are discounted or my favorite FREE! 

So there I was adding free e-book after free e-book to my Google Play Books account. I was content with my selections and proceeded to read the first book in my “queue”. That book was Whiskey Rebellion. I had no idea what I was about to get into,  but I was ready!  This book began with a prologue. I absolutely love to get a glimpse into a crucial moment of the story before I even know who the characters are and what is really going on. Liliana had me at the prologue and took me for a wild, entertaining, heart pounding ride all the way to the last word of the epilogue.

I felt like I was a part of a television crime drama. One that had a perfect mix of comedy, mystery, drama, romance, and murders. The characters and plot were well put together. Every aspect of the book was perfectly described and allowed my mind’s eye to visualize each event as it unfolded. I honestly felt like I was part of this story.

Whiskey Rebellion‘s major and minor characters were all believable and relatable. I’m sure everyone will feel a connection with at least one character and know someone like one of the others. This book has it all, and it will leave you wanting more.  Lucky for us Liliana has several books that accompany this engrossing mystery novel. Check out Whiskey Rebellion and the rest of the Addison Holmes series as well as Liliana’s other series here.

Here is the introduction to Whiskey Rebellion by Liliana Hart:

My name is Addison Holmes, and I teach history at James Madison High School in Whiskey Bayou, Georgia. You might be under the assumption that my life went to the dogs when my fiancé left me at the altar for the home economics teacher, or when I got notice that my apartment building was going to be condemned, or even when I was desperate enough to strip to my unmentionables to earn some extra cash. The truth is that I’m pretty much used to disasters following me around on a daily basis, but I could have gone without finding my principal dead in the parking lot of a seedy gentlemen’s club.

After the initial shock of finding my first dead body, which included throwing back shots of Jack Daniels like it was water, I decided to take stock of my life. I was in a desperate situation and if the school board ever found out I’d been a stripper, even a bad stripper, I’d be jobless as well as fiancé-less and homeless. Fortunately, I had a friend who felt sorry enough for me to give me a job doing some surveillance work at her detective agency. Not to mention the fact that I was now able to stick my nose into other people’s business for a good cause, find a murderer, and pick up helpful tips from an incredibly attractive detective.

Come check out my story and be thankful your life is relatively normal.

Source: amazon.com

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Book Review: Whiskey Sour by Liliana Hart | Random...Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine

Leave a Reply

Follow Random…Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 579 other followers

Dark Fiction By Kyla Ross

Horror and suspense flash fiction, short stories, and novels

Jenny Roman

Staffordshire-based Writer - living the dream!

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Writings By Ender

The Writer's Adventure

Sui generis Shaili

A Unique Style 📝 | 💫WorDeD with WiT👑👇

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Soulful Poetry

my heartfelt words...

Crumble Cult

By Tony Single

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

Faithful.Live

Faithful Marriage-Blended Family

Laugh Me Out

By: Michael Justin Chavez

