The Greatest Sound in the World 


Each day I check my weather apps. Yeah, you read it correctly. Apps.  Plural. More than one. “App” with an “s”. I check each app in search of a few things.


The first thing is the current temperature. I have to know how hot or how cold it will be when I leave the house. 
The next thing would be the temperature for the rest of the day, and the rest of the week. I anticipate cold, cool, or comfortable days. (I live in south Louisiana, so I am usually disappointed). 


Finally, I check for precipitation. I save the best for last. Most people would be anticipating a sunny day. Some might even look forward to a cloudy day with some sun. I, on the other hand, have high hopes for high precipitation percentages! I love rain! I look forward to rainy, stormy days. 

I guess you are probably reading this thinking I’m twisted, and I just might be. I understand that rain causes lots of problems for some. I also know that thunderstorms and other severe weather can cause costly damages, injuries, as well as loss of life. 

However, I still find peace in a rumble of thunder. I await the crackle of lightning that follows the thunder. I count the amount of time that elapses between the two indicators that tell me how far away the storm is from me. I stand by as the storm gets closer. I prepare for the moment those first, slow, stray rain drops belt against the roof and windows. Those stray drops turn into a steady pouring and pounding against my home. 

Photo Source: giphy.com

This is the moment I have been waiting for. The moment I get to experience the greatest sound in the world! Rain. The rain is hitting my home from every possible angle, due to the wind that accompanied it on its journey. As the system moves across my house, I lay in bed. I lay there in the dark. There is no sound being made inside. The only sound I need is the sound of the rain colliding with everything it touches on its way down. That is all I need. 


Photo Source: pinterest.com

Why would I need to hear anything else? Rain is the greatest sound in the world! 

The Greatest

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. fluffysteps
    Jan 22, 2017 @ 01:57:06

    I don’t mind the sound of the rain, as long as I am home and don’t need to go out at that moment. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow Random…Yet Not So Random Thoughts Of Mine on WordPress.com

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 578 other followers

Dark Fiction By Kyla Ross

Horror and suspense flash fiction, short stories, and novels

Jenny Roman

Staffordshire-based Writer - living the dream!

Site Title

“Love recognizes no barriers. It jumps hurdles, leaps fences, penetrates walls to arrive at its destination full of hope.” — Maya Angelou

Mik Mob's Music Mass

share YOUR favourite tunes with The Mob

Writings By Ender

The Writer's Adventure

Sui generis Shaili

A Unique Style 📝 | 💫WorDeD with WiT👑👇

An Extraordinary Ordinary Life

A woman’s search for meaning

Natalie Breuer

Natalie. Writer. Photographer. Etc.

Soulful Poetry

my heartfelt words...

Crumble Cult

By Tony Single

The Gloria Sirens

Leap Out of the Deep and Sing

Faithful.Live

Faithful Marriage-Blended Family

Laugh Me Out

By: Michael Justin Chavez

